House Committees to Vote on Assisted Suicide This Friday

While there was great news out of Annapolis last weekend when House Speaker Michael Busch (D-30A) announced his plans to withdrawal a proposed constitutional amendment enshrining a woman’s “right” to an abortion at any stage of pregnancy, the dignity of life is still very much under attack in the State Capital. It is expected that this Friday afternoon, the House Health and Government Operations Committee and the House Judiciary Committee will jointly vote on a bill that would legalize physician-assisted suicide in the state. If the bill passes out of Committee, it will be headed for consideration by the entire House of Delegates, where passage is likely. Now is the time to speak up in defense of all life at all stages.

If passed, this bill would allow terminally ill patients to be prescribed a lethal dose of a controlled dangerous substance, which they would then pick-up at their local pharmacy and ingest without medical supervision to end their life. This bill, in addition to having no regard for the worth and dignity of every human life, establishes suicide as a societal norm, places large quantities of Schedule II prescription drugs into our communities with no measures in place for take-back or disposal, and leaves those suffering from mental illness, persons with intellectual disabilities, and our elderly at risk of coercion and undue influence by family members or caregivers. If we are to stop this bill, we must do so now. Please plan to call and email the Committee members listed below before the Committee votes on Friday afternoon.

Your voice will make the difference and our lawmakers need to hear from you. Respectfully tell them that you oppose House Bill 399 and that you urge them to vote no against legalizing assisted suicide in Maryland. Please take action today in defense of Life! To stay up to date on this and other important issues, CLICK HERE.

HOUSE HEALTH AND GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS COMMITTEE

Delegate Shane Pendergrass - District 13 (Committee Chairwoman & Lead Sponsor of HB 399)
410-841-3139 | shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us

Delegate Joseline Pena- Melnyk - District 21 (Vice Chairwoman)
410-841-3502 | joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us

Delegate Heather Bagnall - District 33
410-841-3406 | heather.bagnall@house.state.md.us

Delegate Erek Barron - District 24
410-841-3692 | Erek.Barron@house.state.md.us

Delegate Harry Bhandari - District 7
410-841-3526 | harry.bhandari@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. - District 18
410-841-3638 | alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Nick Charles - District 25
410-841-3707 | nick.charles@house.state.md.us

Delegate Brian Chisolm - District 31B
410- 841-3206 | brian.chisholm@house.state.md.us

Delegate Bonnie Cullison – District 19
410-841-3883 | bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us

Delegate Terri Hill - District 12
410-841-3378 | Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us

Delegate Steve Johnson - District 34A
410-841-3280 | steve.johnson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ariana Kelly - District 16
410-841-3642 | ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ken Kerr - District 3B
410-841-3240 | ken.kerr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Nic Kipke - District 31B
410-841-3421 | nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susan Krebs - District 5
410-841-3200 | susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

Delegate Robbyn Lewis - District 46
410-841-3772| robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Matt Morgan – District 29A
410-841-3170 | Matt.Morgan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sandy Rosenberg - District 41
410-841-3297 | samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sid Saab - District 33
410-841-3551 | Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes - District 37A
410-841-3427 | Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kathy Szeliga - District 7
410-841-3698 | kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us

Delegate Karen Lewis- Young - District 3A
410-841-3436 | Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Delegate Luke Clippinger - District 46 (Committee Chairman)
410-841-3488| luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us

Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary - District 13 (Vice Chairwoman)
410-841-3471| Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us

Delegate Curt Anderson - District 43
410-841-3291 | curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Lauren Arikan - District 7
410-841-3334 | lauren.arikan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sandy Bartlett - District 32
410-841-3370 | sandy.bartlett@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jon Cardin - District 11
410-841-3054 | jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

Delegate Frank Conaway - District 40
410-841-3189 | frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

Delegate Daniel Cox- District 4
410-841-3288 | dan.cox@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield - District 19
410-841-3485 | charlotte.crutchfield@house.state.md.us

Delegate Debra Davis - District 28
410-841-3337 | debra.davis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Wanika Fisher - District 47B
410-841-3340 | wanika.fisher@house.state.md.us

Delegate Robin Grammer - District 6
410-841-3298 | Robin.Grammer@house.state.md.us

Delegate Wayne Hartman - District 38C
410-841-3356 | wayne.hartman@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jazz Lewis - District 24
410-841-3691 | jazz.lewis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Lesley Lopez - District 39
410-841-3021 | lesley.lopez@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael Malone - District 33
410-841-3510 | Michael.Malone@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susan McComas - District 34B
410-841-3272 | susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

Delegate David Moon - District 20
410-841-3474 | David.Moon@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jesse Pippy - District 4
410-841-3118 | jesse.pippy@house.state.md.us

Delegate Emily Shetty - District 18
410-841-3181 | emily.shetty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles Sydnor - District 44B
410-841-3802 | Charles.Sydnor@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ron Watson - District 23B
410-841-3448 | ron.watson@house.state.md.us